PSORIASIS ASSOCIATION CONFERENCE

 

On Saturday 9th May 2015 Psoriasis Association held there annual conference at the beautiful Whittlebury Hall in Northamptonshire.

It was a pleasure to be invited as a guest speaker at the conference.

IMG-20150514-WA0023

I spoke about co-management of Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis. Diyen my partner came along too, he filmed me speaking, and I have to say it always hits home harder when I hear myself talking about my journey. I know it’s all happening but I guess because I am living the moments every day I forget how tough things can really be sometimes. Maybe it just goes to show it is who I am and the way I deal with these chronic conditions is normal now.

But I always question “what is normal” everything is always changing and I am exhausted trying to keep up with it all.

Anyway back to the conference, this was the first one I have attended and I have to say it was very good, lots of new information and advice. Also an opportunity to meet other sufferers, share advice and experiences.

It was great to catch up with Victoria, founder of Psoriasense, we have had the pleasure working on a few projects together.

Some interesting topics were covered

  • Social media
  • Treatment decision making and psoriasis
  • What role does diet play
  • Co-management of psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis

When I was first diagnosed with P, 24 years ago information was very little and no support groups at all. It’s refreshing to see how much support there is out there now. A big thank you has to go out to those who suffer and share their stories and create awareness.

NO MORE SUFFERING IN SILENCE

Diyen knows a lot about the conditions and how hard things have been for me, he also found the information extremely beneficial. He also struggled to understand why so much is missed by consultants and why referrals are not made by GP’s, actually he was extremely annoyed! Since then he has been asking me a lot of questions, I think his making sure I have all the support I need.

If you haven’t had a chance to attend the conference I highly recommend you do! I know many of us touch base via social media and the Psoriasis Association Facebook group but meeting in person would be great. I always look forward to meeting fellow warriors!

Oh and the goodie bag is amazing, some great products to try out!

Some great samples to try
2 thoughts on “PSORIASIS ASSOCIATION CONFERENCE”

    1. Thank you!
      I’m the same diets haven’t really helped that much. I still try and cut things out and see if it helps.
      Info on taking omega 3 n 6 and the amounts we need to take to ensure it has a positive effect.
      Also to get tested for gluten allergies as we all know this has an impact. Cutting diary etc.
      There was a P sufferer who said he has managed to control P by going vegan.
      Its so hard as everyone is different its working out what works for you.
      I defo flare up more with sugars, fruits acid, citrus foods and wheat etc. I haven’t cut it all out but I have less of it all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

